Organizational Structure

CHAOS is an Illinois not-for-profit corporation that was formed for educational purposes and dedicated to education about and enjoyment of home brew and craft beer. We incorporated as an IL not-for-profit corporation and have also received IRS 501c3 non-profit status for the sole purpose of better serving the club including obtaining licenses for events or rent venues; making prices for group buys and equipment tax-free; making members’ donations tax-deductible.

CHAOS is also focused on fostering community and fellowship centered around home brew: members share home brew, provide peer evaluation and critiques to help improve brewing techniques, and perform their craft together in our communal space while learning from each other. 

To further our mission, we have developed an organizational structure that includes Executive Officers and a Board of Directors who ensure that CHAOS keeps running. All of these positions are elected on an annual basis during a meeting each spring and any member of the club can joint these positions.

Executive Officers

The executive team ensures that everything CHAOS does keeps running smoothly and the club stays true to its mission. Officers are often focused on our education programs, improving the brewhouse, running our monthly meetings, and pitching in on numerous other activities that would be too long to list here. The executive team works closely with the Board of Directors in setting annual goals and keeping projects on track.

President – In charge of the business of the club (subject only to the board of directors). This position sees to it that the Board’s decisions are carried out. Definitely a leader; definitely good at management with solid communication skills. Be present at all board meetings. This is the person who can enter into contracts and agreements with other organizations as outlined by the Board.

Vice President – Assists the president in carrying out his or her duties at the president’s discretion and will carry out other duties as the president or Board of Directors instructs. Takes over as president (and has all the responsibilities and powers of president) in the president’s absence. Vice president may also enter into contracts, etc. with other organizations. 

Treasurer – This person is responsible for making sure that 100% of the funds from our memberships go back into the club. This person must maintain the books; takes care of all funds (coming in and going out); gives a financial report at each meeting and prepares a year-end fiscal report; receives and deposits any money coming to the club into the established club account; other temporary duties as assigned by the president or Board of Directors.

Membership Director – Maintains records and data of members (including but not limited to membership levels and the start/end dates for members’ annual membership); sending welcome letters to new members as well as renewal notices to current members; although this person may not enter into agreements, contracts, etc. one duty of the Membership Officer will be outreach, contacting new members and new partnering organizations. 

Secretary – Record the minutes of the meetings of the Board of Directors (which is satisfied merely by letting an mp3 recorder run at the meetings) as well as other meetings where voting occurs; send out all notices (e.g., of meetings); keep the corporate records (e.g., bylaws); other temporary duties as assigned by the president or Board of Directors; in charge of timely changing the registered agent with the Secretary of State and for timely filing the corporation’s annual report with the IRS.

Board of Directors

This group of nine members sets CHAOS’s organizational goals and direction, approves major expenditures, and are the major community champions.  The board members have a three year term, with three positions open for election each year — learn more about the Board of Directors.

Officers & Directors 2022–2023

Next election: April 2023

Executive Officers

  • Steven Lane, President
  • James Faircloth, Vice President
  • Ben Resch, Treasurer
  • Irene Sustar, Secretary
  • Purvag Patel, Membership Chair

Board of Directors

  • ​James Faircloth (2021)
  • Jason Whitehouse (2021)
  • Alex Dropkin (2021)
  • Steve Burkhart (2022)
  • Jeff Whelpley (2022)
  • ​Steven Lane (2022)
  • ​Patty McGuire (2023)
  • ​Jon Phillips (2023)
  • ​Mark Goodson (2023)